back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2004-05-02|8:39 p.m.

On Wednesday, I caught this lizard in our house:

I let him go.

On Thursday, Anna came with me to my classes so that after we could go to the Pinback concert going on at the campus pub. The classes were fine. I don�t go much so it was good that I went and did so with her. I am inspired to go to all of the rest of my classes from now on.

And since I missed a reading quiz in all of my absences, I was in one of my professor�s offices taking it. And after the quiz I got up the courage to talk to him. He did his graduate work at Berkeley�political theory with a focus on immigration. So being a political theory major with interests in working with immigration policy, it was wise that I did. He advised me to avoid PhD programs (which I didn�t plan on doing anyway) because of the job market for academics. He, himself, only gained a year lecturer position at UCSD and despite his qualifications was finding the �tenure track dream� a hard reality. He also gave me advice on how to do what I want to do�which was basically to talk to the places I�d like to work at. It was simple, but wise and something I needed to be told. He also said I was smart, in passing. It was nice to hear. I guess I am always shocked to have someone of brilliance even have the slightest recognition of my abilities. Sometimes I am so convinced I am horrible at this that I make it my reality. So, hearing that I am not horrible (even if he was just being kind) is enough to carry me for awhile.

The Pinback concert was horrible and it totally wasn�t their fault. The venue was just bad. There were all these technical problems and then the whole crowd was full of what Anna calls �Stacys and Brads.� And normally I try not to mind that crowd with any animosity, but it amazes me the lack of regard they hold towards each other/others. All night big, muscle-bound Brads kept bumping into me really hard. Anna and I eventually left early, being too irritated to enjoy any more of it.

Friday, Anna and I slept in and then awoke to the news that Jessi was coming down. It was nice. She and I had a falling out from the week before when I acted in poor character and we had since talked. It felt good. It is as if all friendships have to go through that. It�s the point at which you decided if it is worth dealing with crap to still be friends. Good friends pass through it with egos intact. We did.

The weekend was spent shopping, eating out, watching movies, relaxing, and dancing. All of it was really nice, with a small exception to the dancing. I guess they didn�t have the normal DJ for Transport, which is basically a night of Brit/electroclash Rock. Instead, there was some dude from NYC, which sounds promising, but it wasn�t. Not only was none of it Brit pop or electroclash, but it was also pretty horrible overall. Most of the dance floor looked confused like they didn�t know how to move to any of it. It was sad.

**********************

I am selling a lot of clothes and books lately. It feels good. As one of my friends said, �It�s like capitalist and Buddhist at the same time.� Plus, I need the money since I don�t work. But that is changing soon.

**********************

I like doing nice things for people I don�t know. And most people don�t find it creepy. They find it surprising and inspiring.

**********************

Oh, and I love crafting, especially knitting. It feels good to finish projects. Here are a few I have done:

Neck warmer. It�s my first knitting project ever. I gave it to Anna.

Long, skinny scarf. This is for a special friend that doesn�t know I am giving it to her yet.

Oh, and Jessi and I painted Phoebe�s nails:

top


add a comment(5)
pied piper - 2004-05-03 01:43:03
"eating out"

Boogity - 2004-05-03 02:00:39
ahahahahaha

melanie - 2004-05-03 08:59:09
�It�s like capitalist and Buddhist at the same time.� - I like that, probably because I am selling a lot of my things right now too. Also, I wanted to say that your scarves are really cute.

jbtsugar89 - 2004-05-04 15:49:50
Congrats on your professor giving you compliments like that. Comments like that always bring in a little bit of sunshine.

no name - 2004-05-06 04:27:13
That's such a neat picture.