back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2004-05-09|10:03 p.m.

I have had a really nice week. My midterms and a paper were postponed giving me plenty of time to study and read�which you may be surprised to know I actually did. And the one midterm I took last week, I think I did alright on. And I got marks back on another quiz which the professor said to the class that he was �sorry, but there were Ds, Fs and a lot of Cs.� And I got a �B.� So, I was pleased.

I�ve also been going to class. I know� it�s what I am supposed to do, but for me that�s a huge thing. I can be pretty bad about indulging in either feeling sorry for myself or flat out laziness. But I want better for myself lately. So, I will do what I am supposed to do, because it really does make me feel better.

Earlier in the week Anna and I had a picnic in a nearby park. We tried unsuccessfully to fly a kite. I was stubborn and thought that maybe I could catch some wind that didn�t exist. Well, nature proved to be more stubborn and I just ended up running around with a kite like a fool. But it was fun because I was with Anna and we had a nice meal. I didn�t even really mind all the ants I had to share it with too.

She also helped me sell more of my clothes. Some of these shops can be real snobs, but thanks to her knowing just about everyone in San Diego�she worked her charm and I got a little gas money.

I came to the realization this week, finding that I have no more money, that I probably have to remove the lip ring I really, really like having so that I can go back to work at Longs. Working there for over five years has given me a wage above minimum and a place that is willing to work around my school. Of course, I could go apply at a place like Hot Topic, like I said I would, that would have no qualms about it. And they would probably work around school for me�but I just cannot see myself working for so little. My time does mean a lot to me and I need more than what I�d get working for that. So, I dunno. I need help. I�d love to keep my lip ring, but I cannot find a retainer (a clear ring or stud) to keep the hole open for work but also comply with dress code. If anyone knows where I can get something like this, I would be indebted. I will take it out and suffer the compromise for a better wage, but I�d love to be able to have the proverbial cake and eat it too.

Saturday, I hung out with my friend Josh. It was fun. We got up early and went to this moveon.org volunteer phone banking event. Basically, thousands of people all over the States got together in a host�s home and used their free cell phone minutes to call people in swing states to see if they were registered to vote and, if they were not, try to get them to do so. A lot of the numbers we called proved to be answering machines and people too busy to be bothered. But a few were pleased to get the call and wanted to get signed up to vote.

My favorite call was this woman who must have been middle aged and she said she had never once voted before in her life. But �with things as bad as they are with Bush,� she wanted to help get rid of him. It made me grin from ear to ear.

And although a lot of the phone calls could be disheartening��I am 77 and I have never voted and I never plan on it.� It was getting just a few interested that made all the difference. I mean, can you imagine going your whole life and never becoming active in your surroundings? I can�t. But can you imagine calling someone and helping them change that? I can, at least now. It was fun and I am glad I did it.

I also saw Kelly's friend Sarah there and she was really cool. It made me a little sad I was too shy to befriend her somehow. She said the kind of smart things that you want to hear all the time. So, it is no real surprise she was a friend of Kelly's.

Josh also took me to get super delicious sandwiches in Hillcrest and we took them to the San Diego mission where we ate and walked around. It was a nice treat to a productive and fulfilling day.

And today I went to church with my mom and then took her to eat at her friend's sister's Mexican food place. It was such a nice day to be with my mom.

And now I better go back to reading so I can live up to all that junk I said.

top


add a comment(2)
angel - 2004-05-10 13:35:43
try somatic in long beach. it's on redondo & broadway next door to the library coffee house. i got mine there [for my nose] they can make them right then and there for you.

Christy - 2004-05-10 21:37:05
I know someone who put a piece of thread in the hole just to keep it open, and then put a real ring in later. Your ring is probably a little too fresh to be able to do that successfully, though.