back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2004-04-25|4:54 p.m.

It�s been nice having Mike visit so often this quarter. I am sad that tonight Anna and I drive him back home.

Most of our weekend has been spent hanging with Jessi (until she left for home on Saturday), running errands, reading for class, and lounging around watching movies and TV. The only blemish upon a almost completely wonderful time was Friday evening when I got jealous and cranky because of some lame girl kept flirting with my girlfriend and then we had to go to this lame hipster party (a crowd of 300 or so of them in one small house and yard). But Anna set me straight latter that evening and I felt a lot better.

Today, being Earth Day, there was a big festival for people interested in environmental protection, hippie music, and other liberal issues at Balboa Park. Anna helped out at the The Clothesline Project table�and I gave what little help I could offer (mostly sitting and pointing to literature). The group is really rad. They exist all over the country and collect t-shirts decorated by women (or for) who have experienced violence. The shirts are displayed at events like this on a clothesline for the public to see. It�s pretty intense�especially since you get to see women make them (if they so choose). One somewhat meek girl came to the table and asked if she could decorate one. She left a red shirt that said �The color of this shirt is no mistake. It represents the color of the blood I lost the night three strangers gang raped me. But I survived and am here today.� It was one thing to read the already existing shirts. It was another to meet a random person and connect them to their horrible experience. Anna plans on helping out at their events much more often.

Oh, and on another unrelated picture sharing note:

I promised to show a picture of my lip piercing once I got the proper ring for it. This is it.

This was some art at the LA MOCA we saw this past week (for details see one entry back). That�s me and then Anna is behind the lights.

This is Anna, alone, behind the lights.

Mike, my best friend (above mentioned and always mentioned, it seems), sitting grumpy in the car.

Oh, and on another cool note: my friend/ex, Kelly, is good (grade school era) friends with a guy who plays in Polyphonic Spree who toured with Corn Mo. The timing of finding out about that seemed neat enough for me to share.

top


add a comment(1)
crei - 2004-04-26 15:39:52
hello you, glad to hear your doing well, I like the lip ring, and the other photos as well. Still thinking of you:)