back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2004-04-23|3:32 p.m.

On Saturday I went to LA after taking care of DMV stuff (getting the truck into my name and renewing my license) and having lunch with my friend Josh and my mom in Old Town. That evening I went with Mike to UCLA�s campus to see They Might Be Giants. The overall show was flawlessly fun. The concert hall was fancy and seated and Mike paid the high price to get the best seating possible. So, it was sorta cruel luck when later TMBG told everyone they could rush up to the stage front to stand. But I made Mike come up there with me anyway and we stood right in front of them. And even though he was mad about having to leave his seat and be among people at first, he was pleased later by how fun it was. It pays to have a slightly more extroverted best friend, I said to him.

Even if someone isn�t familiar with TMBG, they could go to a show of theirs and have a great time. I like that about them. There�s something about the way they interact with their audience that makes everyone feel like they�re there to have a fun time. Also, having confetti shot onto you is always fun.

Also, everyone in the whole universe with any brain at all should check out their opener, Corn Mo. He�s this ex-arena metal band guy who picked up the accordion and went solo after hearing TMBG. And he�s hilarious, genius and his diaryland page is here. So, thank me later.

I also skipped school all week. I know, I know. I am never going to graduate with good marks this way. But I did have a nice week.

On Wednesday, I was back in LA with Anna and we met up with Jessi and Mike. That evening we went to UCLA�s art museum, the Hammer, for a free sit in conversation between Janeane Garofalo and Laura Flanders, the author of Bushwomen. It was informative, inspiring, and, as expected, very funny.

On Thursday, we all went to two of LA�s MOCAs (Museum of Contemporary Art). Jessi interns at one of them, so we went to that one first and walked around the Minimalist exhibit. Admittedly, I didn�t like it all that much. According to the reading they provided, it�s a movement meant almost entirely to debate conceptual art. So, coupled with the fact that it was boring to me (a single, small canvas painted red in the center of a big, white wall), I didn�t appreciate a one-sided discussion of art between artists who seek not to be thoughtful in light of those who do.

Then we went to the MOCA in little Tokyo, which was so much fun. They had a photography exhibit for Diane Arbus and those who have had influence on her. Most of it was really good stuff. Her work revolves around people in their normal settings and the exhibit itself was called �Everyday Life.� There were photos of individuals in curlers, couples sitting on a couch, children playing with dolls, old people at parks, etc. It was all very intimate and was something I can appreciate.

There was also another instillation on the other side of the building made by a man named Gregor Schneider. We had to go to the side of a building and then sign waivers that we�d not sue MOCA if we were hurt inside. After that set a precarious mood, we entered what was basically a crazy architecture of rooms ranging in size from normal to un-enterable that looked and smelled like an old bunker. Some hallways were completely dark and like good friends that my bunch is, they sent me in first. It was fun to wander in the dark, unsure of what awaited you, finding doors that led no where and secret passages. It was my favorite art of the day�the kind that doesn�t suck.

Later that evening, we all drove back to San Diego and went to Shooters for 80s night. Jessi and I danced most of the evening. And though the DJ generally sucked, we had a good time. The fine evening was topped off by a meal at Denny�s and then bed.

And now I am here�sitting and writing. And I thought I�d share some unrelated, old photos with you:

These are my grandparents (my dad�s parents) shortly after getting married. I think my grandpa was about 22 and my grandma was 18. I got these photos a couple years ago and thought it would be a good idea to scan and save them.

This is my grandma. I think this photo and the following one was taken in Iowa where they were both born and raised.

These are the grandparents again, biking. It makes me all silly to see that they did stuff like that together.

This is my dad as a kid. The funny kid next to him is his cousin.

top


add a comment(3)
amar - 2004-04-23 18:38:30
wow, corn mo's diaryland is fascinating... is this guy for real?!

melanie - 2004-04-23 18:46:36
Hey - I was just scanning old pictures today with the thought of maybe putting some of them in my diary. Maybe there is something in the air making us both do this. Or maybe it is just coicidence.

Laura-Jane - 2004-04-25 22:22:49
Your grandpa is a stud. XOX, Laura-Jane