back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-09-09|2:39 a.m.

Tonight I had an interesting time chatting with a new person I�ve met online that lives in San Diego. He�s a math genius of sorts and started this learning program for other (younger, grade school aged) math geniuses.

We spent the time chatting about game theory and how it proves that individuals can maximize personal benefits by working communally. This, however, is threatened by prisoner�s dilemma, in which by lack of communication (or the ability to do so) individuals make choices that are not the best for themselves as an individual, and most certainly not best for the community.

That brought us to talking about how this applies to modern America, and how, perhaps, the US suffers from a huge form of prisoner�s dilemma. Many people have different theories as to why. Perhaps it is our break down of the community or our full time jobs. Perhaps it is our general distrust or lack of compassion (I dismiss such a theory; it�s absurd).

Whatever it is, it�s complicated. And we have an obvious disconnect. And I believe that we would balance communal good with individual good to it�s maximum benefit if only we had clear, trustworthy information and clearer ways to communicate with one another. Humankind is incredibly pragmatic and with that comes working together for a greater good, I believe.

*****************

I started using ICQ again. I missed not talking to people from places in the world I will most likely never see. And I also believe in extending diplomacy (which lacks greatly from my nation�s current leaders) one on one to strangers that live in a world I am lucky to share. And, of course, I always learn something new.

From a boy living in Uzbekistan:

D (01:00 AM) :

i do not like bush, but i do like the American people

D (01:04 AM) :

they are a good people, but bush is bad leader

shesajarofcandy (01:08 AM) :

i agree that bush is a bad leader and it is gracious of you to think so highly of americans. thank you.

With a 21 year-old from China, I also learn to practice diplomacy when I disagree (I promise am trying!):

��Դ���� (12:56 AM) :

do u have many Chinese friends?

shesajarofcandy (12:56 AM) :

i did in grade school.

shesajarofcandy (12:57 AM) :

i had many Taiwanese friends.

��Դ���� (12:57 AM) :

They are Chinese.

shesajarofcandy (12:57 AM) :

they didn't consider themselves Chinese.

��Դ���� (12:58 AM) :

what do you think about this?

shesajarofcandy (01:02 AM) :

i believe that the Chinese government has forced autonomous nations to be part of china against the will of their people. Taiwan and Tibet, like the people of china, are kind and wonderful people who wish to be part of their own country. i support a free Tibet and Taiwan, because their people want it.

shesajarofcandy (01:04 AM) :

what is your opinion?

��Դ���� (01:05 AM) :

But it all Chinese think Taiwan is part of China.

shesajarofcandy (01:06 AM) :

even if it means killing?

��Դ���� (01:08 AM) :

maybe,Plitics is brutal.

shesajarofcandy (01:08 AM) :

it often is.

shesajarofcandy (01:09 AM) :

i feel, somehow, it is our job to lessen the pain and suffering as much as we can, though.

��Դ���� (01:13 AM) :

but Chinese goverment only want Taiwan to be a part of China as Hongkong,They will be free.

(he stopped talking to me after this)

*****************

I haven�t forgotten about our mix trading group. In the next couple days I will get all the names together. Right now there are about 15 people. I am hoping for a few more.

top


add a comment(1)
Jevon - 2003-09-09 14:00:34
The whole maple syrup thing still kind of freaks me out... but anyway, I'm back in Michigan now and I sent out the tape right before I left, so it should be there in a couple of days. I don't know if you did already or not but count me in for the mix trading too. Take care.