back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-09-01|11:32 a.m.

I like it when Europeans say �holiday� instead of vacation. Like my new boss at DFS says, �My holiday in Scotland was lovely. The weather was even perfect.�

***************************

This is my new pup, Phoebe. Isn�t she cute?

And this is my little darling, Holden. When he sleeps sometimes his tongue hangs out. Hehehehehe.

***************************

I completed my first week of work at DFS. S, my boss, is wonderful and, although she is absolutely kind to everyone she meets, we seem to really click.

My duties are pretty laid back as well. I basically serve as a secretary and data entry clerk. And since it is all volunteer, there are no demanding requests. S is always mindful of how I am doing and making sure I don�t overwork myself. Of course, I just work there like I would anywhere else. And perhaps, I work even harder, because I like what I do.

I think this next week if I get up the courage, I will take pictures of the place and explain how it works. It�s a really awesome non-profit.

***************************

School is starting up soon, so I thought I would share what classes I am taking. I am really excited about them:

Citizens and Saints: Political Thought from Plato to Augustine

This course focuses on the development of politics and political thought in ancient Greece, its evolution through Rome and the rise of Christianity. Readings drawn from: Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Machiavelli, and others.

Freedom and Discipline: Political Thought in the 20th Century

This course addresses certain problems which are characteristic of the political experience of the twentieth century. Topics considered are revolution, availability of tradition, and the problems of the rationalization of social and political relations. Readings drawn from: Nietzsche, Weber, Freud, Lenin, Gramsci, Dewey, Oakshort, Arendt, Merleau-Ponty.

Chinese and Japanese Political Thought

An examination of the competing philosophical traditions of ancient and modern China and Japan, with an eye toward understanding how these have been reflected in Chinese and Japanese development. (I am taking this course more because of the professor teaching it, rather than my own interest in the subject. I think it will grow on me though.)

***************************

!!!!LET�S TRADE MUSIC THROUGH THE MAIL!!!!

Two diarylanders (fuctor and moonrattles) gave me the idea of making mixes, both cds and tapes, for people you know by reading their journals. We could create a list of people interested in participating and then every month or so (those interested could help me pick the length of time between each trade) and match them randomly. Of course, you�d have to feel comfortable disclosing your address, but we can even stick to using journal IDs instead of names. It would be a really fun way of getting exposure to new music and maybe be a good opportunity to tap into your own creativity of making play lists of music.

Let me know if you are interested or know anyone else that might be.

***************************

I know this is low-brow humor, but boy it is funny:

I never knew he was such a good dancer.

***************************

I met this really cool girl online that makes jewelry. When I get some money again, I am going to buy some. You should check out her site, there is some really cute stuff on here that�s great for gifts and such.

***************************

The Quay brothers make me want to do stop motion animation. I know, like I can do that.

***************************

random older entry

top


add a comment(8)
Christy - 2003-09-01 15:49:04
Ooohhh.... I wanna trade music through the mail!

boyfromks - 2003-09-02 01:53:33
You know I'll want to play.

steven - 2003-09-02 11:44:48
I'd be SO down to do a mix trade. Count me in!

lauren - 2003-09-03 00:28:56
sounds like a fine idea to me.

crei - 2003-09-03 00:41:15
I'd love to trade music like that..forget about my answer to the file-sharing question shesajar, count me in:)

mark - 2003-09-03 03:49:10
a monkey will eat dirt... if you make him. oh, I mean I will make a cd... if you let me!

tigerknight - 2003-09-06 12:16:14
You do realize that you are inviting people to participate in a criminal conspiracy with your music swapping scheme? Yes? Good. I'd be happy to participate myself.

barbara - 2003-09-10 01:15:40
You know, Mel, that I want to play! Problem is, I am a terrible procrastinator. I have been thinking of music to include on your CD, but I haven't even finished the first one for someone else. I got so far as a rough draft. Then J deleted all files in order to protect us, and I have to start all over again. Really, my problem is with CDs. But nobody listens to tapes anymore. :(