back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-09-10|11:49 a.m.

I recently met a really awesome girl online. She�s funny and smart and in the rarest of instances, she clicks with me. Although, it�s not without a sad twist of fate. For the moment I might actually have made a female friend here in San Diego, I find that she is moving to San Francisco in about six months. It�s worth it to me though. I don�t mind investing myself in something that will be so short. I feel like that, mostly, because I believe it�s silly to live your life like that. I am just going to have a friend.

And this new friend has a friend who is a tattoo artist. And this friend is working up apprenticeship hours at a tattoo shop. And the coolest part? I get to be part of those hours! A free tattoo.

I�ve been wanting to get another tattoo for some time. I didn�t have it set in my head what kind of tatto I wanted, but I did have it set where I wanted it done. I want a tattoo on the inner part of my bicep. That�s right, the place that�s supposed to hurt the most. It�ll be ok, I think. Plus, I think tattoos look awesome there in my opinion.

Plus, thankfully, I decided what tattoo to get as well. So, I won�t be marching in there and pointing to something on the wall. Although, I should say, wall tattoos, though mostly stupid, can sometimes redeem themselves. One of the best tattoos I have ever seen was on a parlor�s wall. It was a cartoony-looking dolphin standing up in the water with a huge grin on his face. One of his fins was giving a thumbs-up and the other was holding a long island ice tea. I know! How cool is that? But, I�ll let MM get that one. It fits his personality better.

Kidding aside, I decided on a heart. One simple heart. It�s my permanent heart-on-the-sleeve.

So, I�ve been ambling through the World Wide Web searching for satisfactory heart images. I�ve stumbled upon everything from open heart surgery�

�to the band Heart�

�to that crappy movie Hearts in Atlantis�

�to the card game Hearts�

�to a goat named Heart�

�to a heart-shaped mound on Mars�

What struck me the most, though, an article on how people my age believe the Valentine�s holiday is a waste. How irritating.

I guess, I should say in all fairness, that believing so is your right. I am not about to argue for the creation of a secret police whose duty is to act in force on those who don�t like Meg Ryan movies and fail to buy heart shaped stuffed animals for their honey on that special V-day. Instead, I plan to complain, as I often do.

If you think Valentine�s day is too commercialized then don�t buy crap. It�s really that simple. Just because you�re too preoccupied being critical of the way others celebrate (which is funny, right, because what am I doing), doesn�t mean that the day is to blame. And no, Hallmark didn�t make the day up. And yes, you can be romantic any other day of the year as well. Only you can place that limitation.

And if you don�t think it�s cool to buy your loverboy/girl a mass printed card with a naked person on the front of it and a joke in the inside, then get out the scissors and some construction paper and do it like you did when you were in second grade. Hand made stuff is awesome. Any failure for authenticity is your own.

Also, mind your own business about how people have a good time. The same goes for Christmas.

And from the article, once again in the love department, the French show us up:

"Here the girls all say they have a lot of homework. It would take two weeks to get a date with them," he said. "I'm French. This is ridiculous."

top


add a comment(3)
pie-rat - 2003-09-10 15:15:24
hey, how about this: if you're not catholic, then stay away from our holidays all together.

angel - 2003-09-10 15:17:13
Even if all you can be is friends it's always worth it. I love valentine's day but I haven't had anyone to spend it with in a long time. my exgf from 2-3 yrs ago was the funnest when it came to holidays...

boyfromks - 2003-09-10 17:05:23
Strangely enough, I prefer February 15th to the 14th. Nothing against V-Day, of course.