back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-02-12|9:54 a.m.

At my work there is a display of white gorillas with motion sensors in their puckered lips. A few of them are turned on (there is a pun there, believe me). And since this is a drug store, our customers are primarily older people. There is something that most people don't really know about older people (maybe because most of them are tucked away in convalescence homes). Old people, for the most part, can only focus on one sense at a time. Case in point: As they pass the gorillas, the motion sensor is triggered and the gorilla does its catcall whistle and amorously declares, "I love you." The old people turn around (oftentimes not anywhere near the little, white love machine) and gasp insulted. They hear the whistle, but have no sense of direction to be able to tell that it is just a toy. This is the amusement that helps my day pass.

When I am old I want to be whistled at.

I am dropping my International Relations class. This is a great disappointment to me, because this class is amazingly interesting and important to my major. But, with all that I am doing right now it is impossible for me to get out what I need to in this class. I guess, to keep up my units at fulltime, I will take a nine-week geography class online.

J is coming over today and my house is a mess. Urgh.

I want the weather to be a little warmer so that I can wear skirts again. Wearing skirts is one of my favorite things. Dark blue, pleated, knee length skirts are a reason to love wearing clothes.

I wasn't chosen to be head delegate for our Model United Nations team. The guy who got it has helped our advisor plan out the trip with airline reservations and such. I am a little disappointed, but don't feel at all cheated. I am in fact one of the small committee designed to correct my peer's resolution papers, which is somewhat flattering. My intro section to my resolution paper was also chosen as the template to be placed on all the papers for our team. So, need to worry about that, right?

"next door/ there is an old man/ who lived into his nineties/ and one day passed away in his sleep/ and his wife she stayed/ for a couple of days and passed away./ I'm sorry./ I know that's a /strange way to tell you that I know/ we belong"

Word of the Day: (this one if for MZ) razzmatazz- a confusing or colorful often gaudy action or display/ razzle-dazzle

top


add a comment(0)