back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-02-12|1:09 p.m.

Everyday I wake up. Everyday I sleep. I never go hungry for a prolonged time. I never feel sick for longer than a couple days. I live in the United States.

"The United Nations Development Program estimates that the basic health and nutrition needs of the world's poorest people could be met for an additional $13 billion a year. Animal lovers in the United States and Europe spend more than that on pet food each year."

I have the opportunity to go to school for free. I can read and write. I make money above the minimum wage. I live in the seventh wealthiest entity, California.

"More than 800 million people in the world go hungry."

Everyday I can drive my own car. Everyday I could get access to health care. I own more clothes than I need. I can entertain myself with movies, music, and amusement parks all designed to please people like me. I live in a small, safe town.

"In the United States, 12 million children live in households where people have to skip meals or eat less to make ends meet. That means one in ten households in the U.S. are living with hunger or are at risk of hunger."

I know that the developing countries are the proletariat of the international economic world. I also know that I live in a democracy that feeds off these people. Humans like me. Humans not like me.

Everyday I wake up happy. Wake up happy. Wake up happy. Everyday I go to sleep.

top


add a comment(0)