back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-02-19|10:01 a.m.

S and I have been contemplating over whether or not to go protest the nuclear waste dumping in the Nevada mountains. Apparently, almost everyone in Congress including Bush, with exception to the congressmen of Nevada, have accepted this initiative. These mountains are not far from my home. This upsets me. They say that it will not cause any damage or have any harmful effects on surrounding towns and cities. That is why they don't want it dumped in their states I suppose. My question is, who keeps making this nuclear product that needs to be disposed. No one seems to want it. Yet, it is continually produced. My proposal is that whoever voted to have it made can keep it in Mason jars in their garage as far as I am concerned. What is national security when my extended family in Las Cruces is dying from cancer from nuclear testing done in White Sands National Park?

This would be my first protest. Well, not including that lame time we tried to have a walk out in middle school to save our favorite teachers from being laid off.

I saw that movie Super Troopers. I remembered something from watching it. Indian (not the native to America kind) and Middle Eastern men are very, very attractive to me. It is my most one-dimensional allure of the opposite sex. It is not the normal flutter of my silly heart based on some tangible connection to someone and their personality. It is simply sexual. I dated an Indian boy in high school once. He wasn't all that I hoped. In fact, he did creepy things like have his friends watch me and note who I spoke to and where I went. It didn't last long. Even still, he appealed to me.

Oh yeah. The movie was funny too.

There is something very different in me than most people, something missing. I never really watched MTV until I left my parent's house. Could that be it?

I was sitting in a department store near the dressing rooms waiting for my stepsister to try on her clothes. A man was sitting across from me. He looked like a policeman not on call. I imagine he was a policeman, fireman, or military officer because he had that look to him. The kind of look that is clean, strong, and unnatural, like his real personality was washed away in some type of training and even when he is not "on duty" he can not retreat back to it. I smiled at him. He smiled back to me. I could tell that he was a kind man.

Later in the store, my sister and I approach the sales counter to be rung out. The kind man and his wife a still shopping near us. His wife says to him, "Are we ready?"

He turns to me and lightheartedly responds, "I was ready about a half an hour ago." I giggle, knowing that because we shared smiles this is almost a joke between friends. I also know his wife is not pleased by his jest at her expense.

As they walk away, she whispers not quietly enough for me not to hear, "What are you being a smart ass now?"

He apologizes.

J is being evicted from his house. I am sorry.

Word of the Day: scintillate- to emit sparks/ to emit quick flashes as if throwing off sparks or sparkle

top


add a comment(0)