back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2001-09-26|12:12 a.m.

Don Mclean is one of the greatest has-been�s ever. We (MM, A and me) went about a year ago to go see him perform live. Since I was a kid I�ve been the hugest fan. And not just for American Pie, but certainly not excluding it. So, we went to see him it was a free concert at a rich, beach city in an outdoor mall called Fashion Island. There were tons of old, rich folk and us. The crowd took fine wines and cheeses in picnic baskets and we brought some soda and chips in a Longs Drugs plastic bag. The concert was wonderful, and he even played the song �I hate Fashion� in honor of the mall. My smile spread for miles. After the concert, I summed up the courage to talk to him, get his autograph, and get a picture with him.

I hand him my copy of his �best of,� and ask him inaudibly, �Can I get a picture with you?�

�What did you say?�

�I�d like to get a picture with you, if that�s ok,� I say slightly louder. Big eyes beam down on him pleading.

�Sure,� he says, seemingly surprised, �Stand here.�

�Ok,� I say and move towards him and pose for the picture as he puts his arm around me.

The picture is taken.

�I never turn down hugging a beautiful girl,� he says as he lets go.

�Thank you,� I mumble, and scurry off.

My heart beats wildly, for days.

I bought three cds today. Tori Amos� new cd (I am seeing her in concert soon), Ryan Adams� Gold, and Ghost World�s soundtrack. All of them are wonderful.

If I haven�t mentioned it before Winona Ryder is my favorite actress. And I know I haven�t mentioned that I admire her like crazy.

People, strangers even, have said that I look like her. I delight in this, but realize we are far from twins.

I wish.

When I found out she dated Ryan Adams I was burning with envy. But, I can see how it happened. In his �thanks� section in the liner notes at the very end he writes, �and Winona Ryder�damn girl.�

If only a boy (especially Ryan Adams) would leave me that in his liner notes.

I wish Cat Stevens was my best friend. I�d beg him to play songs for me everyday. I�d feel better.

I got the wedding pictures back. They�ll come soon.

�I wish I had a Sylvia Plath/ busted tooth and a smile/ and cigarette ashes in her drink/ the kind that goes out and then sleeps for a week�

Word of the Day: crepuscular- of, relating to, or resembling twilight /dim, active in the twilight

top


add a comment(0)