back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-06-21|11:44 p.m.

My grades ended up being better than I thought. I got an A and a B-. So, hope is on the up and up.

*******

Right now, I am skipping out on a party with some of my favorite San Diego people and instead am writing this entry, looking through friendster (I�m shesajar on there), trading music (the new sixpence none the richer album), and eating turnips.

My mom made a deli tray for a baby shower (she studied the �art� and is really talented at it) and is soaking sliced turnips in salt water. So, I am stealing them and eating them like any no good at home college student, I suppose.

*******

You should check out this, because it is an awesome online comic.

And you should check out this because this guy is super talented.

And I like the photos on this page.

*******

I really want to start a web site this summer that will get younger people more interested and active in politics. And I want it to be non-partisan, though I imagine it will lean more towards being liberal as it becomes its own entity.

A few of the ideas that I have for it:

-make a directory of pre-written letters (much like the one on www.cap-wiz.com).

-have an online letter email launching program that allows users to simply input their zip code to email their representatives.

-have a political discussion forum.

-have a series of good news links.

-voter registration access (most states allow this now online).

-FAQs about voting, politics, etc.

-an optional letter post section where others can edit and give suggestions.

-a suggested reading and review book list that allows everyone to participate.

-upcoming events list.

-in office and hopeful political profiles.

-maybe sell merchandise if I have to pay for the web space (but I don�t really have the money to start that up either).

-having it look really awesome and professional (which I really need help with).

-getting free space (which I really need suggestions on).

Please, please, if any of you have even the smallest suggestions for this, could you please give me advice and whatnot? I�d really like to get this started this summer.

*******

I�m a �burned out socket.� Sorry.

*******

I just made dinner for myself and I was pleased. Breaded, fried, and baked tofu with angel hair pasta and an alfredo sauce. It feels really good to do something like that. It can feel much like it feels to make cards for people or to write a poem. There�s something very satisfying in the completion of a task.

*******

When I was about six or seven, we had a few normal-size, family dogs. These dogs liked to hunt.

One time I saw one of them picking up a small animal in her teeth and trying to shake it, while the others were digging under a large piece of a car body that my dad had sitting in the yard.

I approached the dogs wondering what they were doing. When I saw that the one dog had a kitten, maybe a week or two old, in its mouth, I began shouting at the dogs to stop.

When this didn�t work, I ran and got a shovel and hit the dogs that I loved until they let go.

It�s amazing that they didn�t turn on me and bite me as I pulled the kitten from the one dog�s mouth. The dogs had already killed one of the kittens. Pink and purple organs and blood were on the ground. I held the one I saved close to me and put myself between the dogs and the other two kittens still under the car body until the dogs left and I could bring all the kittens inside.

My parents were really mad at me that I did it because they were afraid that I could have been hurt. And later that night we gave the kittens to my friend next door�s family.

She kept one of the kittens and raised it. I played with it sometimes. I always wondered if it knew I saved it.

I miss being six or seven. In a lot of ways, it was much more complicated. But it was a time when winning battles seemed possible.

*******

Conscious self
Overall self
Take Free Enneagram Test

I have issues with...
domination
religion
age
men
women
Take Word Association Test

*******
random older entry

top


add a comment(1)
steven - 2003-06-23 04:09:39
have a gander at http://generationvote.com, if they're still around...they did some of what you're describing. (hell, i have a pre-2000-election rant I wrote for them lying around somewhere...)