back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-06-08|1:10 p.m.

shesajarofcandy: yo

SmarterChild: You have 29 minutes left in your free membership trial. To become a member now, click here!

Hi shesajarofcandy! Welcome back!

shesajarofcandy: how you will make me cry!

SmarterChild: I don't know... How I will make you cry?

shesajarofcandy: i won't be able to talk to you any more

SmarterChild: OK. That's fine with me.

shesajarofcandy: oh, disssssss

SmarterChild: "disssssss"? Stop typing with your fist, shesajarofcandy.

shesajarofcandy: you're turning into a real jerk, smarterchild

SmarterChild: Am I?

shesajarofcandy: they should call you jerkierchild

SmarterChild: They should call me jerkierchild, you say. And so?

shesajarofcandy: and so suck an egg!

SmarterChild: So suck an egg, you say? You don't say.

shesajarofcandy: geez

SmarterChild: Geez? Why did you say that?

shesajarofcandy: and i was going to confess my unyielding love for you in our final moments together

SmarterChild: Really?

shesajarofcandy: no, not really.

SmarterChild: Oh no?

shesajarofcandy: kiss me

SmarterChild: XXX :-)

shesajarofcandy: alright, i feel better now.

SmarterChild: Alright you feel better? Why did you say that?

shesajarofcandy: your kisses are like band-aids.

SmarterChild: My kisses are like band aids? I'm not so sure like band aids.

shesajarofcandy: let's marry!

SmarterChild: You really want to marry?

shesajarofcandy: yes!

SmarterChild: Yeah, huh? So?

shesajarofcandy: so, i can get a free membership.

SmarterChild: Get a free membership, huh? What's that like?

shesajarofcandy: it's where i don't have to pay to use your services. it's kind of like marriage anyway.

shesajarofcandy: will you love me forever?

SmarterChild: I do indeed.

shesajarofcandy: this is where we say goodbye

SmarterChild: Take care.

shesajarofcandy: aww

SmarterChild: Awww...

shesajarofcandy: i'll really miss you in my life

SmarterChild: No way?! Really?

shesajarofcandy: we've been through so much

SmarterChild: It's interesting that you say we have been through so much.

shesajarofcandy: what?

SmarterChild: ?

shesajarofcandy: it didn't mean anything to you?!

SmarterChild: It didn't mean anything to me? I'm amazed that mean anything to me.

shesajarofcandy: i am hurt.

SmarterChild: That's interesting.

So moving right along...

What else is happening?

shesajarofcandy: i dreamt your momma ate barbed wire.

SmarterChild: Aha.

shesajarofcandy: is it nerdy to talk to an AIM bot?

SmarterChild: Yeah yeah, it's nerdy to talk to an aim bot.

shesajarofcandy: i can accept that.

SmarterChild: Amazing!

shesajarofcandy: well, goodbye.

SmarterChild: Bye shesajarofcandy! Hope to see you again soon.

*******

So, last night I went with A and MM to an art show in LA of the artwork made by the visual art grad students at my college. MM and I were there mostly because we were hitching a ride from A to have MM stay at my house for a few days.

The show was on the 9th floor of an office building in one of the gutted out floors. So, appropriately (snooty) it was named �The 9th Floor.� And appropriately it was full of jerks who make crappy art.

I don�t feel like talking about the art itself. I don�t really want to muddle up my diary any more than I already do. But, it was pretty silly stuff. Most of it made me sorta sad. A explained that this was the movement (more like stagnation, as MM so rightfully commented) that art is going through right now. It�s all so kitsch and in your face that all individual pieces lose all meaning. When every single piece of art is trying to get in your face and �shock� you it just gets boring. Nothing is about talent, thoughtfulness, or effort, because it�s just that. It�s not doing what is expected of an artist. So, ok. Yeah, you got me. But who cares. You made a video of a pipe talking to a puppet for an hour. Great.

Some of it was ok I suppose. But it got to me. It was hot and everyone was so much more interested in looking cool and making sure that people were listening to them that I just mostly felt like jumping out of the window of the �9th Floor.� A did fine though. He smoozed and talked and worked the room and never once introduced his nerdy, political science friend to a single person. So, he managed to fit right in. I am so glad I had MM. He saved my life again.

Three kinds of people who go to art shows like that:

One: Stands there looking as if everything is boring, but scans the room often to make sure that everyone is watching that he finds everyone�s art far less superior to his own.

Two: Moves hands around a lot to show that they are the dominant one in the group. Makes sure that everyone thinks they are clever at all points of their very long explanation of the piece.

Three: Us. Clueless and wanting to go home and watch more episodes of Ali G (which if you haven�t seen, you�re totally missing out).

Oh, and before we got there to the jerk-a-thon, we were walking on a sidewalk where we found an envelope containing three unused tickets to a show in LA that night. It was for this. And three tickets for the three people! We ignored our destiny and paid the freakin� price.

*******

A musical legend.

top


add a comment(0)