back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-12-06|9:46 a.m.

I wrote this at school on 12-04-02:

Somewhere, as I sit in the sun outside at school, I hear �Across the Universe� playing. It�s slightly muffled through distant corridors and at times becomes inaudible at passing conversations. It plays out the moment with perfection.

�Words are flowing out like endless rain into a paper cup. They slither while they pass; they slip away across the universe.�

A broke up with me last night.

He certainly isn�t the first boy I have ever been in love with, but the fact that I�ve spent nearly everyday of five years with him makes it so much more poignant.

�Images of broken light which dance before me like a million eyes. They call me on and on across the universe.�

He was my first lover.

I cried most of the early morning, when he broke it to me:

�I still love you, but I am not �in love� with you.�

Nothing sounds like more bullshit than this to a broken heart.

The words we construct for the complex emotions that pass through us at these times are starved. They lack what words are meant for�meaning, communication, the ability to convey an idea. �I still love you, but I am not �in love� with you.�

The only idea that falls upon me is that my life will be much different now.

He wants us to remain friends.

It all seems like the lame clich�. Can we just be friends after being in a young and intense five year relationship? Can I have you around while I fall �in love� with other people? I don�t know. Maybe it is possible. It doesn�t seem possible for awhile at least. I have some more growing up to do.

I struggle with being angry with him for giving up, for making me feel used, for no longer being �in love� with me.

But, hours later as I sit here, the sun is warm on my back. It is comforting. It is amazing how alone I feel, and how mixed I feel about it all.

�Thoughts meander like a restless wind inside a letter box. They tumble blindly as they make their way across the universe.�

Soon, I will begin the new chapter in my life. One much more independent.

I scramble for the practical in this moment. Where will I live? What will I do to fix my financial mess that I have been met with recently (too little money chasing too many bills)? Should I move in with my mother? The thought seems depressing and stupid. Should I take up some random ad for a wanted roommate? The thought seems scary. What about getting to school and will I remain at my job?

I�ll have to figure it out. And I will. Moving on�

�Jai Guru Deva Om. Nothing's gonna change my world. Nothing's gonna change my world.�

top


add a comment(4)
amar - 2002-12-06 12:56:31
really sorry to hear it.

laura-jane - 2002-12-07 18:29:42
apologies. i think you are right to approach it as being a new chapter in your life... and you can make this chapter a better one than the last. they usually are.

jeff - 2002-12-07 20:36:27
i agree with laura.

steven - 2002-12-11 16:19:43
don't try to be friends at first...just take some time to yourself and see where *you're* going next.