back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-11-18|3:15 p.m.

This is what Goethe says, �A man should hear a little music, read a little poetry, and see a fine picture every day of his life, in order that worldly cares may not obliterate the sense of the beautiful which God has implanted in the human soul.�

Along with the previous entry, I have some pictures that I have taken. These I have taken so that I can remember. I am indiscriminate at the emotions I choose to keep. I keep the spectrum close at hand: happy, sad, and all the colors in between.

On Halloween, A dressed up for work (he is a shift leader at Hollywood Video) as Chaplin. He cleverly painted his face in black and white. Everyone loved the costume.

If you have seen Super Troopers, you might get this one. Courtesy of Magic Mountain�s concrete (yet loveable) bear.

This game makes me squeal with excitment when I see it. I occasionally find it at random arcades. It is called PropCycle. You get on the cycle, which is bright yellow and not for those shy at heart. Like Dance, Dance Revolution, people will sometimes gather around to watch you play it. You petal your propeller through the air to pop balloons. It is actually quite difficult, because to advance to the next level you cannot miss a single red balloon. Insanity. Just to note: the �censor� is not to cover some plumber�s crack, it is to maintain my lady-ness and cover my panties. I assure you.

This picture I also took at Magic Mountain while on the �Scrambler.� Those girls featured in the picture are all of A�s sisters. Most pictures are pretty posed especially when taken on outings with family or friends. I love this one because it is so genuine. Happiness lurks in all corners of our lives.

This is a picture of a horse on a carousel at Magic Mountain. Manmade things are always given a bad rap. We get too absorbed in our own self-effacing that we close off a lot of beautiful things. This just struck me as something beautiful.

The last of the Magic Mountain pictures is Jul, A�s brother, on a bumper car. Bumper cars, along with shoe repair shops, are romantic to me. They have outlasted our consumer lifestyle of bigger, better, faster, harder. They are simple and bring some sort of patient enrichment to our lives. I love the way that all around him is blurred in the ecstasy of enjoyment and the center is a young boy.

I collect pictures of old signs when I can. Like the reasoning behind the picture above, I think that they are romantic. The signs could have been replaced years ago for newer more polished versions with modern lights and fonts. Something in our longing for the past keeps them here. Many of my signs are found in my old home town in the desert because Old Route 66 blazes through it. This one is my favorite. It looks awesome at night.

The last I have saved to leave you with an image I cannot put into words. I will simply give it to you. This can be found in my mother�s yard.

top


add a comment(2)
shesajar - 2002-11-19 00:10:42
test drive

velcroface - 2002-11-22 00:55:03
Melissa - you're a genius. I wish I knew what you were thinking all the time.