back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-11-02|12:00 a.m.

I saw �Bowling for Columbine� a couple weeks ago with Marc. It is probably one of the best things I have seen in ages. Let me just say, if you haven�t already seen it you are committing a crime to yourself.

And today, on Oprah, Michael Moore was the guest and �Bowling for Columbine� was the topic. It was the first time ever that I actually wanted to watch Oprah.

Michael Moore would pause occasionally to actually talk to the audience. He said something in particular to them that sat in my mind for awhile. He said like:

�Americans aren�t bad people. That isn�t the message I want to express with this. It is that we get compounded in this fear. It is our very environment. We are bombarded with our fright of that something that wants to hurt us. But we have no idea what that something is. And it is almost hysteria, a disease of the mind. It paralyzes our lives. We stop being able to actually recognize real danger. And it isn�t that we are apathetic so much or that we aren�t intelligent. But, it stops us from doing the right thing. We mistrust everyone. And the result is a very me-me-me society. The news makes it so that we are unable to see real tragedy in the world. The things we should be sensitive to, we can�t be. And this is what I want us to see and to change. We need to erase our mistrust of society. Because the real things to fear in the U.S. are the fact that 40 million people are illiterate or that 40 million people live below the poverty level. These are the things we need to take action on. We don�t need guns or security systems. We need to care about other human beings. Because if we don�t it will mean the end of us.�

And of course that is paraphrasing. I am sure he said it a million times better. But, the point is, I was pleased that he was so positive. He knew it was in people to better their situation. He, despite all the things he has read, seen, and done, still believes in people.

The funny thing was the commercial breaks in between the show. One was truly bad. It was some furniture commercial with Kirstie Alley with chime in hand, where she says to a gloomy looking exec-type �Listen Sister Moon, I know what will cheer you up---Shopping.� And then they buy a shitload of expensive candles and soft things that are supposed to resemble some type of �World� mysticism healing items. And the funniest thing is the only thing �Worldy� about it is that someone in Korea made the crap for 20 cents an hour. But, I felt better knowing that the exec-type felt better. At least maybe she won�t go buy a gun tonight in fear. Right?

And to continue my critical look on American culture, I�ve been listening to Don Mclean. He has this pretty clever, though maybe a bit too cranky, song called �Prime Time� that I felt I should share (and recommend that you find and listen to). The first stanza is the chorus and it goes in between each once after that.

Well this is life, this is Prime time/ This is livin' in the U. S. A./ Well this is life, this is Prime Time/ This is livin' the American way

I was ridin' on the subway in the afternoon/ I saw some kids 'a beatin' out a funky tune/ The lady right in front of me was old and brown/ The kids began to push her, they knocked her down/ I tried to help her out but there was just no way/ A life ain't worth a damn on the street today/ I passed the ambulance and the camera crews/ I saw the instant replay on the evening news

Well will you take the car, or will you take the trip?/ Remove annoying hair from your upper lip/ What's it really worth? Does she really care?/ What's the best shampoo that I can use on my hair?/ Hey what's the real future of democracy?/ How're we gonna streamline the bureaucracy?/ Hey, hey, the cost of life has gone sky-high/ Does the deodorant I'm using really keep me dry?

Well spin the magic wheel and try to break the bank/ Think about your life when you fill in the blank/ Here's a game that's real if you wanna try/ One spot on the wheel that says you must die/ American roulette is the game we play/ But no-one wants to have to be the one to pay/ You get to pass GO, you get to pass away/ But before we start our show, here's our sponsor to say:

Well down in Mexico, the laundry's on the line/ There's where you can go if you land on the nine/ Canada is nice if you're fond of ice/ If you land on the two then we'll send you there twice/ We interrupt this game for a news release:/ A man has gone insane and been killed by police!/ Now back to the game, that's a dangerous play/ Cause if they see you in C-U-B-A you must pass away

My supper's on the stove, the war is on the screen/ Pass the bread and butter while I watch the Marine/ The shot him in the chest--Pass the chicken breast!/ The general is saying that he's still unimpressed./ We had to burn the city 'cause they wouldn't agree/ That things go better with democracy!/ The weather will be fair, forget the ozone layer,/ But strontium showers will be here and there

Well livin' in the country watchin' shadows fall/ My reception ain't too good in a power stall/ Bombers in the air, missiles in the sea/ Chemicals in everything, including me/ They don't keep their promise in the Promised Land/ It's getting mighty hard to find an honest man/ But coming very soon, a show you'll die to see/ It's called The End of the World, on channel C

top


add a comment(0)