back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-09-21|1:40 a.m.

I was going to write an entry, but had nothing in particular I felt like writing. Then, I realized that there were a few things floating about in this cobwebbed attic:

-- A and I have been dating for over five years. Insane.

-- I am not homosexual, yet the fact that all of media assumes that relationships are heterosexual annoys me.

-- �I am a non-practicing virgin.�

-- I have a crush on this poet here in San Diego. He is brilliant. And his name is Elijah Baxter. I haven�t talked to him or anything, but I do get to hear him read again at a show this next weekend!

-- I like don�t particularly like freeways for many reasons, but I do like when a whole bunch of them will braid over each other like pick-up sticks. It is much like my relationship with the night sky here in San Diego. I hate never being able to see the stars, but the fuzzy, taupe sky is strangely fascinating.

-- When Aram moves in, I will be living with three boys. I have lived with men all my life. Early on, it was my dad and my brother. Then, A and MT And now, it will be these guys. I think it is the most comfortable state I could have. I never mind toilet seats up, boy smells, and non-stop video game playing. But every once in a while, I miss having someone to talk about crushes and silly things like that about. Plus, these guys don�t know how to braid hair!

-- I haven�t really felt like listening to music lately.

-- I was watching Oprah today at work. She had Bono on. Now, for the record, I don�t like U2, except maybe the older stuff like Joshua Tree that I grew up on. Bono has always seemed like a self-absorbed jerk. But, today, I thought perhaps all along I have been giving him an unfair rap, because what he did in Africa was pretty awesome. Plus, I can�t help but think, why does it matter if I like or don�t like U2? Anyone who does something to better the world or other people, either to gain notoriety or to sincerely do the right thing, deserves my respect, although the levels of it may be up to my temperamental whims. So, good work, Bono. I know he must have been waiting around his whole life for me to say that. Oh, but the real reason I have been thinking about it is, he said this line that I thought was pretty amazing. When the video of children living with illness, despair, and the swarms of flies on their eyes in Africa played, Bono said that if people at home watched this and did not make a change to help them then they were simply being �tourists in other people�s tragedies.� Oh, I don�t really like Oprah either (also for the record).

-- I miss M.

top


add a comment(0)