back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-09-16|11:08 a.m.

Well, I have been gone for a long time.

Sometimes, I would write things in my head for this place. But, for the most part, my head had been pretty silent.

A lot has happened.

School hasn�t started. It will begin in two weeks, where I am going to take three classes:

-American Politics (to refresh myself)

-Politics in Society (I can�t help but think, �duh�)

-Political Statistics (cringe)

I have never had a break from school this long. It has been five months. Five whole months of brain rot. Well, maybe not entirely, I have been consuming books as much as I can. I have even given into Hemmingway and read The Sun Also Rises. I convinced myself somewhere in time that I�d never like his work. But, with an open mind and a need to read something, I found that he is terrific and causes me to laugh out loud, which is a pretty good change from Orwell who causes me to cry.

A young man (soon to be 17), named R (there is a picture of him in this somewhere), is under A�s and my guardianship. He has been a friend of A�s family for a long time. He is staying with us now and beginning high school here shortly. He has a horribly irresponsible father and very ill grandparents and both of them care little of his future. We gave R the option to live here, but with the firm rule that he must finish high school and begin college. He also has a few chores like taking Holden out and taking out the trash. We�ll see how it works. I hope the best for him.

There is also the problem of money and our roommate, Aram (who has not yet moved in). We have very little money and taking care of someone else with no income is a bit much, but we�ll figure it out. And Aram, who understandably is a bit unhappy about it, I hope, will realize that this kid has little choice. He can go back to his father and get beaten, degraded, fail high school, and live under the threat of having to be homeless all the time. Or, we can accept the boy who loves video games, who sleeps in our living room, and who eats a lot. It just comes down to the fact that he is someone who needs help. I guess we will see how things turn out.

D and I have become really good friends. We hang out all the time. It is good to have a friend.

Ok, I am tiring out and have to go get ready for a late shift at work. I promise not to let the spaces between entries grow so large. I�ll be back soon.

top


add a comment(0)