back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-08-08|8:27 p.m.

I am waiting for the night to come so I can use my telescope.

The nights here are not as nice as they are up in the desert. The dessert has little to no light pollution. So, as the night falls slowly from East to West, the sky is illuminated by tiny little specks of light. I never used my telescope there. I really should have. San Diego is a huge place with a lot of people and the night is bright with life. This makes me happy, because I like people. But, without stars, I feel a bit lost.

I remember back to middle school when I took classes with Mr. Heinzman. He taught science and math classes. I wasn�t, and never will be, very fond of the math classes, but I loved science. Mostly because Mr. Heinzman loved astronomy, and back in those days I wanted so much to become an astronaut, as funny as that sounds. Actually, my whole young life I thought I would either become an astronaut or an astronomer. It wasn�t until my calling, so to speak, that I realized that I owed my life to something else.

I still love the night sky though.

And Mr. Heinzman was so excited to find a student like me. He would invite me and my dad up to his friend�s observatory all the time. It was deep in the woods of Wrightwood. It was an amazing place. There, Mr. Heinzman, would place the scope right upon the surface of the moon and I could see with amazing clarity the rocks brightly lit by the sun.

Sometimes, I really miss those days. So, tonight I will recapture them.

top


add a comment(0)