back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-07-16|11:09 a.m.

So, I�m back. And I am tempted to write a rap about my return to entertain you, but I am afraid it might just make you laugh instead of be intimidated like a good rap is supposed to, right? Alright, well I don�t really want to intimidate you either, but can I really just say, �hello� and have that be worthy of my new look here at Diaryland? Look at it. Don�t tear up now. I had to grow up some time. Everybody does.

_________________________________________

In all seriousness, Abe did most of it for me. I just did the bossing around, which is what I am good at or bad at depending on your view of it. But, anyway, thanks Abe.

_________________________________________

The trip to Arkansas was a test of will. A total of three and a half days on a bus is a bit much. The Greyhound bus line does not promote comfort. In fact they mock it. Reclining your chair is a joke. You have the option to have it at upright and two inches reclined from upright. All the buses have temperature controlled sensors that recognize the overall temperature of the bus and then it adjusts accordingly. Well, not really. The sensor simply believes that Greyhound travelers are in favor of cryogenically frozen environments and head colds. Which is exactly what I got on the way home and from all the nose blowing, my nose ring hole got infected. At which I decided, no more nose ring. So, yes, I am back to normal ol� M.

The actual time in Arkansas was nice. My family out there is having a bit of a feud though. Ha, I bet that conjures up some images. Family feuds in Arkansas. The fight made things a bit difficult. Normally, I just visit everyone together in pretty harmonious gatherings and we have a good ol� time. This time, though, MM and I went hoping from each house to meet each member of my family. Which was fine, I suppose. It feels good to be around family. And I could never describe well enough how nice it was to be around my dad again. I am truly proud to be his daughter. More and better stories to come, I promise.

And, I really do promise that pictures galore are soon to come as well. I didn�t get that damn digital camera for nothing.

_________________________________________

Life here in San Diego is a bit trying for me. I always have a hard time adjusting. Mostly, it is just work that is making my conversion difficult. They are killing me here. All of it is on my feet and I can�t stop thinking of how little I am working for. This week is the killer. I work six days, five of them are eight hours on my feet and the one is in the office for as long as it takes me to count a day of money. And I don�t seem to be making friends here.

**Break into lame poetics!**

But, my time off is fun because it is spent in the sun.

Old friends are visiting that I have long been missing.

And it is good to have familiar faces in these different places.

We�ve gone to the beach twice and it�s been oh so nice.

Yes, life is grand when you�re in the sand.

**Back to mundane autobiographic ramblings.**

So, yeah. Mostly, I am just growing up. I am just realizing that life sucks 85% of the time and the rest of the time you can really just make it what you want. Don�t let those optimistic kibitzers lie to you. You can pretend that work is fun. That the basically rude and impatient consumer population is a joy to be around and that stocking, restocking and straightening shelves is enjoyable. That the burn in your heals from standing for hours on end is the burn of love. Sure, you can believe that. But, then again. You�d be insane.

Word of the Day: kibitzer- one who often offers unwanted advice or comment especially at a card game OR one, in a broader sense, who offers bad opinions.

top


add a comment(0)