back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-05-22|2:06 p.m.

Thanks to Aram I am in this Radiohead mood. I keep interchanging Amnesiac and Kid A at work. It is strange how the pace of my work matches the beat of their music.

Ok. I am sorry to say that I am sad. I feel bad just leaving that there. It is just as if it is the only thought in my head until I just write it down and get it out. Even this sounds stupid.

One of my very favorite people is leaving my work. She is moving to Kansas with her husband and teenage daughter. She is always cheery and has wonderful things to say. Oftentimes the things she says are cornball dirty jokes and the latest Longs Drugs gossip. Her insistence on bringing out the wallflower girl (that's me) into conversation is probably the number one reason I have any friends at all here.

One of her famous jokes is:

"What is better than a rose on a piano?" Cindy asks.

"Um, I dunno," brilliantly I respond.

"Tulips (Two lips) on an organ!" she shouts and we giggle.

As much as I talk about loving the ephemeral, the real reason I like it is because I don't. Saying farewell to something that means something to me is so hard; I really have to honor it in my mind by letting it go.

Bye-bye Cindy.

I feel like boring you; so, I am going to tell you about my work here. I am a bookkeeper at a corporate drug store that prides itself (perhaps falsely) on a family owned type atmosphere. I have been working here for 3.5 years and counting. It is my first real job and has managed to keep me here this long. I am sort of proud of that, while sort of embarrassed.

INTERRUPTION FROM BORING DETAILS: Cindy just came into my office to give me my farewell "goose". And I don't mean the kind that flies in the air and makes that loud horn-like honk. The kind that after she gave it to me she said, "Come on M, every girl has lesbian thoughts." At which I turned the darkest shade of red.

Ok, back to boring details. I come in typically before the store opens and set up the registers with money. Then, I go up to my office to count the previous day and without permission check my email and write an entry if I have time. Then, my day is filled running errands, getting and opening mail, paying/processing bills, reconciliation, and filing. Sounds like loads of fun, huh? Yeah, office jobs are not for the weak of heart.

Word of the Day: Panglossian- marked by the view that all is for the best in this best of possible worlds/excessively optimistic

"all is for the best in this best of all possible worlds."

top


add a comment(0)