back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-05-09|5:03 p.m.

The song "Promising" by Jeff Tweedy on the Chelsea Walls soundtrack reminds me of nights sitting up and listening to Jeff (not Tweedy) play me songs. His voice especially sounds like his when he sings "I promise�"

You know what?! I am a 401K-investing-at-20-years-old kind of girl. It has been almost a year. Not much is in there, because I can only afford to channel in 1% of my earnings. But, it seems funny to me. It makes me seem quite responsible. I can hear my dad bragging now, "And she even invests in her company's 401K plan."

On my desk at work sits: Lisa Simposon, her books and cat, Rouge from the X-Men movie action figure, a yellow toy thunderbird with a "21" on the hood recently placed there by someone anonymous (read in Matt from work), an empty M&M candy holding M&M man with a arrow (of love) shot through his hat, a clear green alien wearing a business suit which reminds me of Radiohead for some reason, a strawberry Burt's Bees lip gloss (here by making me officially INDIE according to Teen People), and a rubber pokemon named Clefairy (who MM says, "If M was a pokemon it would be Clefairy, which sounds cute, and is, but is as cute as a little round, pink blob)".

Last weekend I went to a Quincea�era. It was a friend of A's family's daughter's event. This is how one site defined such a birthday:

"For hundreds of years young women in Latin America from Mexico to Argentina have celebrated their quincea�era - their 15th birthday - in grand tradition, beginning with a Catholic Mass and continuing on to a large and extravagant celebration. In some parts of the United States the tradition thrives, particularly among second- and third-generation Hispanic girls. Quincea�era parties are generally very lavish, with mariachi bands, a feast, and many guests celebrating the 15-year-old's transition into womanhood."

It was my first time at one. I always envied the girls who got one when I was that age. I am pretty glad my parents never gave me one. The expenses for one seem insane. But, I was more contented to just get the chance to see one. The girl, like in tradition, wore a white dress much like a wedding dress (both symbols of purity) and her partners, other girls and guys, wore blue dresses and tuxes. That is with exception to A's brother, who also wore white because he was her main partner. Which was funny because J (A's brother) is not her boyfriend, he is dating another girl. But, this girl got lucky, and got to dance with Johnny and have him be her partner because he is a nice boy. The dance is the main affair and began with two little girls in dresses dancing out in the middle of the dance floor with baby dolls in their arms. This I assume resembles youth. Then, the are picked up by their fathers and lifted into the air and leave. Then, enters the older kids who all dance around the birthday girl and Johnny in a circle. It all lasted about 15 minutes. It was neat to watch. Plus, I love mariachi music.

Second word of the Day: decorous- marked by propriety and good taste : correct

top


add a comment(0)