back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2001-06-29|4:21 p.m.

Another long day at work I put in today. I�d be sarcastic about it and say how much I love it, but I am afraid that it even zaps my enthusiasm for sarcasm.

At work we get these emails from the server staff that maintains our service periodically. They are memos warning us to clear out or bookmarks we don�t use anymore, or clean out our send folders at the end of the day, and just little housekeeping things like that. Well, one like that was sent out in May sometime and it required that we write our name in a box and click a hyperlink, which would send them verification that we read the damn thing. The funny thing is, most of the people that work for my company (it is a huge corporation with thousands of employees) who have email access are completely unaware of how to use it. So, in May when the last message went out, instead of putting their name in the little box, several of them �replied all� to the message and even now several weeks latter I am receiving that same message back. It is an endless cycle, which makes me laugh every morning I get it. Some of them are realizing that it is an old message and are adding their own comments like, �Why am I still getting this?� and �Stop sending me this,� as they send it to everyone on the mailing list. The mailing list is huge too; I�d say 500 plus people. It just cracks me up. The best one happened the other day. This guy, who does know what he is doing, wrote up an email about how to handle these messages properly and how people should not �reply all.� The next three emails were from people resending that email and his. I almost peed my pants. Why stop them? That�s what I want to know.

Today, wasn�t so good though. I have had this John Donne symbol tattoo for almost a year now and one of my bosses today noticed it on my arm. Let me preempt this story by saying that she is a bitch. Not many people truly get this honor. But, with her, she really is. So, she asks me what it is and I briefly tell her, because I don�t care if she understands what it means and neither does she. Then she asks me if it is permanent, and I tell her yes. Then she turns flatly to face me and her most serious voice says, �M, you are really weird.� I didn�t even say anything or show any emotion at that point, I just got up and left the room to go in my office. I am a little weird, I will agree. I can sit and talk to a homeless man about politics and an hour latter talk to the president about vegetarianism. I like people, yet I am shy. I love learning, and I guess you could even say I am a nerd; and still, I have one small tattoo. So, I am not one thing. I have a few contradictions. If that makes me any less like her, then I�ll die a happy girl I guess. If she is norm then I�ll sit happy who I am. But, then if I am so satisfied, why am I complaining? The one thing I like about her is that her last name fits completely who she is. Deleon. Of the Lion. She makes me feel like I am living in a Dickens�s novel.

The rest of the day wasn�t much better (with exception to my boyfriend bringing me my favorite lunch). I had to go home for lunch because I forgot to bring a tampon and I bled too much and had to change my pants. No, I am not weird. I am dumb.

Then, on the way home, a moron that doesn�t know how to drive honked me at for like thirty seconds. I was at an intersection and he was behind me and we were all waiting for the green light. When it turned green, I could only pull into the intersection, because I was waiting to turn, allowing the straight going traffic to go before me (as the law says I should). So, the jerk is honking and honking and then I make my turn. So, he pulls up next to me to give me a dirty look and I flipped him off. Just then we both see a cop was behind us the whole time and he drives really close behind the guy that needs to taking driver�s ed again, and in the sweetest moment of my day, I turn to him and give him a big smile, knowing he can�t speed away leaving me in the dust like he wanted too. He smiled back too. What a nice guy.

Tonight will be better though. I�ll unwind and forget work because it is the weekend and tomorrow is thrift store day and Sunday is when I get to meet Kevin Smith.

Word of the day: schadenfreude (noun, often capitalized)- enjoyment obtained from the troubles of others.

Marylyn Monroe quote: �Hollywood is a place that will give you 5,000 for a kiss and 50 cents for your soul.�

top


add a comment(0)