back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2004-01-02|4:33 a.m.

A few overall comments:

Forget the lame list I made for myself earlier last month with all the rules I want to follow from now on. I don�t need it. My New Year�s resolution is be a happy person and to have a lot of fun. A lot of those things on that list will come along with that.

It�s amazing. It�s like I am coming out of some shell.

This winter break has been the best vacation I could have ever had. Jessi and Anna (notice I use people�s names again instead of initials) are to thank for a lot of it. Jessi wants to have fun 100% of the time and is eager to have as many others join in, and Anna is a completely sincere and caring person who takes care of me. The combination has been nice.

It�s too bad Monday brings on the new school quarter with four classes.

Also, I think I am developing thing for a guy I know. But I know, �take it easy, take it slow.� He�s really funny and has a lot of my similar interests and he brings something out of me that makes me impish (which is a strangely awakening feeling to have again). And to add to that already suitable pile�he is really attractive. But yeah, as of right now, I promise to keep myself unserious about him/relationship prospects. I�ve got my brand new NY�s resolution to attend to.

Ok, now for me to tell what the past couple days have been like:

Jessi drove down on NY�s eve to pick me up from San Diego. But before heading up to LA we got some delicious Thai food where the cute waitress gave us free dessert. With full bellies, we headed up and met Aram (old roommate Abe and I had here in SD when we first moved here) and his girlfriend and friends. That party was nice. Lots of dancing, drinking, and fun ensued. Jessi and I, without proper partners to kiss on the welcoming of the new year, locked lips for, of course, the sake of the holiday itself (and onlookers).

Exhibit A:

Then one of Aram�s friends knew someone in the Hollywood Hills (read in: big huge, expensive important people�s homes) having or attending a party. So, we crashed that. It was full of mostly older and important looking people. So, we didn�t really get to mingle; but I was feeling great and when I was offered by the hostess at random to enjoy the food and beer, I did. It was amazing. It was pure decadence in the form of gourmet cheese, olives, beer, crackers, pasta. Unfortunately, we had to leave early from there because one of the members in the group was tired. But I made sure to stuff my belly satisfactorily.

Jessi and I then crashed at one of Aram�s friend�s house, which was nice because it had a room and bed for us. It�s always nice not sleeping on floors.

The next morning, which was New Year�s day, we awoke and grabbed fast food and headed back to SD where I got Anna to take us out around downtown. We did mostly window shopping and I splurged and bought a book about the decline of intellectual influence in politics and the public sphere.

Then later we got food and sat at a bar and drank a little before we met up with Aram and his cute girl again at Shooters for 80s night. They stayed awhile, but had to leave. Luckily, I got Anna and Jessi to stay and keep dancing with me until the place closed. It was a blast.

It�s even kind of weird to me to get hit on in person (the internet is typically my route for interaction with most human beings in general) and so frequently. Part of it is the fact that I am social nearly 100 times more than normal. And yet part of it, I think, is because I am radiantly single.

Even so, I am a bit still socially retarded and am still learning how to respond to it. But it totally feels great too.

The worst part remains that this will slow down a lot. Jessi�s internship at MOCA in LA starts soon and she won�t be able to get down here much. And even worse still, Anna moves to SF at the end of this month and I will see her only when I make vacation time for it.

But this whole winter break has opened me up. And it is a new year and greater things approach.

Happy Late New Year!!!

top


add a comment(0)