back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-10-04|2:57 p.m.

A dear old friend of mine wrote and asked me for some advice on what to do for the recall election. It was a nice excuse to just get to talk to her. It also brought out some feelings about institutions I think that my studies are focusing into a firm belief. I wanted to save my response to her, so here it is:

Yeah, I heard that Huffington pulled out of the race, but did not hear the same for Camejo, though it wouldn't surprise me to find that he did the same. Actually, I am quite impressed by the fact that they would do so. Of course, it's a strategy to help a liberal candidate beat Schwarzenegger who seems (until two days ago with the womanizing scandals and the statement about Hitler) to be gaining support above all the other hopefuls. It�s a good feeling that comes from seeing liberals unite together. We�re often so fractionalized, and from that pretty easy to beat. So, I am so happy to see it.

But that happiness is short-lasting. I am so off-put by Schwarzenegger�s recent popularity. I think it has a lot to do with the appeal of the non-politician politician and the idea that people can trust outsiders. Only, I am quite certain, knowing the platforms of Schwarzenegger and the history of the Republican Party that they're in for a bad shock.

It also made me sad to hear that people up in Nor Cal are getting disheartened and fighting amongst themselves (earth firsters against over environmentalists). As strange as it is for me to see religious conservatives working together with big business republicans... it can be said for the conservative/republican coalition that they are powerful and much of that has to do with their ability to work together. Recently, with the bush-Iraq scandal that has been waning, but for the most part it shadows our not so collective effort.

I wish I could speak more to people about this subject. I wish that we could create cohesion on some sort of grassroots level, but so far it seems not to work. Even as much as I love this stuff, I get disillusioned. I wish there was someone well-known and trustworthy to pull the liberal groups together. Change is needed soon. If only there were another Martin Luther king Jr. Or maybe that's what we are subconsciously creating in this political environment...a call-out for someone to pull people together. It just seems so hard to do with so many lies and scandals. People only want to turn within their homes and hide away from the institution that they feel has failed them, which only leads to more failure. And worse still, are groups who believe that working against (or destroying the system) is the best path.

I am not sure about your personal feelings about large institutional change or violent/destructive revolution, but it seems to be led by groups that possess a dangerous arrogance that they as individuals know what is best for a people. I am hard-pressed to say what is best for us. But I do know from my studies that a great deal of the time-- power corrupts, as the old saying goes. and correct me if I am wrong, but revolution itself naturally creates unstable environments and in that moment of uncertainty, it seems, it often is failed by the fact that it is replaced by disastrous individuals or units who once in power (or even before in case of fascist rise to power) forget the needs and desires of the collective it once sought to work for.

I have an immense respect and faith in the power of institutions and people as a collective. Institutions, like the UN, offer reason to believe that the collective effort, when honored, can produce an ultimate good for all. As it goes for people, they are incredibly humanistic and pragmatic, I truly believe, when offered the truth. It is when deception plays in that the mass makes poor decisions. I guess this is all rather simplistic, but I like to think of it from time to time. It reminds me not to give up hope.

I hope my note hasn't appeared too assuming or long. It is also my chance to rant. So, thanks for reading.

Next time we write you should tell me how you are. Where are you in life? What do you do? What and who do you adore? I think of you (and my old friends like you who I no longer or very seldom see) from time to time and am envious of those who are lucky enough to have you (all) in their lives. Write back soon.

With love, M

top


add a comment(1)
Christy - 2003-10-05 02:17:07
Aww! That was such a sweet way to end an entry!