back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-09-26|12:32 a.m.

Last year, at three classes for each of the three quarters I attended UCSD, I spent over 1,200 dollars in text books. That sucks.

This quarter, I spent about 300 in books. It�s getting better. But that�s mostly because they�re old texts (Confucius, Plato, Aristotle) and publishing rights are nice and competitive.

But the volume of reading is quite a bit for ten weeks. I took a picture:

(there�s a cd there to give a guide comparison)

The guy at the counter at school who rang me out joked about me not sleeping. Yeah, sounds about right. It�s a labor of strange and twisted love.

*****************************

My first class, which I had tonight, was pretty cool. The professor is engaging and funny. I even answered a question in class which is a big step for me� being a horribly shy person. And it got a good remark back from my professor. I left the class feeling confident.

*****************************

So, under that good spirit, I came home and finished this six-page, extensive voter guide for an amazing friend of mine who (started and) works for a local non-profit transitional house for women called Shakti Rising. She asked me to make the guide not too long ago. So, I did it tonight. It�s fairly non-partisan and full of information about the recall itself, the candidates, and the propositions. I hope it helps her. I was thankful to have K and another online friend help me with it.

top


add a comment(4)
angel - 2003-09-26 12:23:33
Wow look at them books! Gee I miss school - nah really I do...

fireflea - 2003-09-26 15:54:27
The first thing I did when I bought all my books was take a picture of them too! We rule. I'm taking Nursing. This week we learned how to wash our hands. It's kindergarten, all over again! Except without colouring books and the kid in the corner eating glue. And even though I should know by now, what are you taking?

shesajar - 2003-09-26 18:27:38
i'm taking all political theory classes, which is my major as well. they're a lot of fun, but in a ten week period they're also a lot to consume. nursing is tough (beyond the handwashing at least), i hear. i'd be the worst nurse and poke someone with the wrong needle or something. so, you're leaps and bounds beyond me.

Laura-Jane - 2003-09-29 03:43:46
Bugger! And I thought I had a lot of reading cued up..