back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-07-15|10:23 p.m.

Dear M:

Thank you for contacting me on the Federal Marriage Amendment.

I wholeheartedly agree-- I will oppose this amendment.

Thank you for writing me on this important issue.

Sincerely,

Bob Filner

Member of Congress

That�s from my House Representative. If you were to bottle up all my political views into a politician this man would be the result. I write him multiple times a week only to get a letter in the mail from him telling me that he �wholeheartedly agrees� on every single issue. Only, he used to write out full length letters. Now though, I think he (and/or his staff) realizes that it�s not even necessary to write out full letters to me. The simple note that we agree and he�ll do what I was asking is all I get. It�s kinda cute.

**********************

A works at the front desk of a ritzy hotel named the Prava which is located downtown. It�s fairly close to a Hustler shop and the other day Larry Flynt and Jenna Jameson stayed there. A got to see Flynt�s gold wheel chair and Jenna flirted with him a little bit, joking that she was going to nibble off his arm because they didn�t have room service or something. A got to brag all about it to his friends. It was funny.

And today, he met some of my favorite online comic artists:

They do comics like explodingdog.com (who drew the picture below on my template), dieselsweeties.com, and wigu.com.

They are staying at his hotel for the Comic-Con. It�s one of the largest comic conventions on the globe. It�s four days long (July 17th through the 20th) and has tons of big name artists as well as new ones like my friend Blam, who I hope to meet.

The coolest part is that A gets to talk to them. He�s already got them to get him in the convention for free, give me a free, autographed dieselsweeties.com book, and permission to make a short documentary on them. A�s good at effortlessly making friends with people while also being very sincere and maybe even a little nervous about it in the back of his mind. He�s hoping (as am I) to get a chance to go grab a drink with them or something while they are here. It�d be really awesome. Plus, it�s always really neat to meet people who create things you like and tell them in person, �Thanks, I really like what you do.�

I was thinking that if any of you are going to the convention that you should drop me a note. Maybe we can meet up and hang out. And if I know you from Diaryland (and this includes any time) you�re welcome to stay in one of my guestrooms here at my house for a while to see the likes of San Diego.

**********************

The party I had back home was fun. I brought my digital camera and then totally forgot to take pictures, which was disappointing. But other than that, it was nice because I got to meet Arthi, one of MM�s friends, who I had long wanted to see in person. She�s cute, smart, and nice on all levels that I�d imagined and then some.

It was also really nice to meet up with old friends like MZ, MT, Michelle, my step sister, and S. S and I got to spend most of the day together cooking for the party and that was nice.

**********************

Send a free email to your members of Congress asking them to protect programs like Reading is Fundamental, Star Schools, and Foundations for Learning.

?????????????

Who is mutabaruka? First person to tell me wins a prize!

**********************

random older entry

top


add a comment(3)
quiddle - 2003-07-16 11:56:54
Mutabaruka is a guy formerly known as Allan Hope from Jamaica who is a poet, basically.

shesajar - 2003-07-16 13:16:18
ok, who is mutabaruka on diaryland?

angel - 2003-07-16 17:14:50
mutabaruka seems to be an enigma on diaryland. I couldn't find anything. doh! & I wanted that mystery prize! ;)