back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2003-06-30|2:35 a.m.

It is a fresh wound every time. I love A as much as my love will allow, which means a great, great deal. Enough that I give and give and give, maybe until there is nothing left. And he will never quite love me that much.

The day before yesterday, A asked if he could bring me lunch at work the next day (I still work at my old work, but only once a week for the employee discount and the supplemental income). Of course I was thrilled. So, we made the plans.

The next day, he called that morning to say that he might not make it. He was out drinking with friends and left his car at work and drove home with them. I said ok, just call me either way, so I know. He said ok. I went to work.

2:45 PM- wondering where A is. Maybe he�s not coming.

3:00 PM- wondering where A is. Maybe he�s late bringing food because: a) traffic, b) they took long making it, c) wild dogs smelled the delicious meal and attacked. Maybe he�s not coming.

3:15 PM- wondering where A is and if I should clock out. I don�t want to clock out too early and miss out on time spent with him. I call his house and leave a message. Maybe he�s not coming.

3:20 PM- He�s not coming.

Span of lunch break- Perks up when someone comes into room. No one is A.

At nearly 2 AM today, he signs online:

him: hi miss M

shesajarofcandy: hi A

him: thats an upset hi A, isnt it?

shesajarofcandy: no

shesajarofcandy: feeling guilty?

him: actually no

him: i do miss you though

shesajarofcandy: yeah, i know... you're good at that

shesajarofcandy: not feeling guilty that is

him: i know what you were referring to

him: i wasnt home at 3 so i couldnt call you

shesajarofcandy: why didn't you call before then

shesajarofcandy: to say you wouldn't be home?

shesajarofcandy: and where were you?

shesajarofcandy: that no phones existed?

him: i was out with mike and uli on the beach

shesajarofcandy: well

shesajarofcandy: you made plans with me

shesajarofcandy: polite people cancel plans

him: well i told you this morning that i might not make it cause i had no car

shesajarofcandy: right

him: and i didnt

shesajarofcandy: and i asked you to call

him: well im sorry about that M

shesajarofcandy: no

shesajarofcandy: you arent

him: i couldnt call

shesajarofcandy: yeah, you could have

him: i didnt get home till 8.30

shesajarofcandy: A

shesajarofcandy: you could have called before you went to the beach

him: well i didnt

shesajarofcandy: knowing that you'd not make it

shesajarofcandy: yeah

shesajarofcandy: you didn't

shesajarofcandy: i like to be treated with consideration

him: you know i dont want to deal with this right now

him: im sorry i didnt call

shesajarofcandy: well, what ever you don't want to deal with

shesajarofcandy: it's all about you

him: goodnight M

On my birthday, A got a really awesome film opportunity and couldn�t come to have breakfast with me like he�d planned. I didn�t blame him. I was really cool. The sucky part, though, was that he didn�t call until 3PM that day to say he couldn�t come and he was so abrupt that he even forgot to wish me a happy birthday. He told me later that he didn�t call earlier because he didn�t want to hear me be disappointed. As if shirking me off but not having to hear it was better. Then, to add insult to injury, he turned it around on me.

�Why didn�t you call me the day before? You could have called me. It works both ways.� (I had called the day of my birthday twice a little worried that something happened to him.)

I wasn�t falling for the trick.

�Call you? You didn�t forget! You purposely didn�t call me.�

But he says sorry. He always says sorry in the end. And ten minutes after that it is supposed to be all ok.

***************

Plus, it looks like no one is even coming to my birthday party. I emailed a bunch of people asking them to email me their addresses so I could send them invitations, and only one person wrote back. My normal 3-4 friends will come to my party of course. But I had so much planned and so much put into it, that it hurts even worse.

What did I do? Have most people just stopped liking me?

***************

I�m not really sad or anything. I just feel lonely.

***************

random older entry

top


add a comment(3)
youknowwho - 2003-07-01 04:29:49
You're not alone!!!!!!

radiantfire - 2003-07-01 21:30:51
this is ridiculous in a way, but i've been wanting to tell you that i have a real de-activated landmine on loan for your birthday party!! i also have some of those crazy pamphlets and posters that have cartoons of people not touching landmines etc... the older i get the more i realize that those same few friendships that i have had forever are the ones that are going to last. i was having lunch with MZ when i had this brilliant realization... love you.

Laura-Jane - 2003-07-02 03:47:41
Aww! I would come..!