back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-11-23|9:48 p.m.

So, I bought Stupid White Men after watching �Bowling for Columbine� and devoured it in two days. Then, I gave it to Marc, because I actually bought it for him, but I wanted to read it myself too.

And I recently got an email from someone who thinks I am picking on Israelis (which may be true), but I promise to write about that later. So, I wanted to re-buy it so I�d have some reasoning to give behind all my crazed thinking.

And I go to Barnes and Noble (gagh, she shops at corporate bookstores!) and try to find it. I am a dummy, and get lost. It�s a warm little warehouse of books and I haven�t got a clue as where to begin.

So, I ask like any good customer. �Uh, do you sell books?� Ok, so I am not THAT bad.

The clerk leads me to the Customer Service counter and asks me again what I am looking for.

I say, �A book called, Stupid White Men.� Amazing how I can speak in underline, huh?

And then he stares blankly at me for awhile. I stare nervously back.

He starts to slowly type something. He says, �We don�t have it here.� I am a little shocked.

I ask him if I can order it there and he says ok.

He takes down my information. And although I am not really bothered by it, I notice he is having a really hard time imputing the information. His manager, I think sensing this guy is having a problem, comes up. The manager is this white, younger guy who seems really cool.

The manager asks the clerk what I am looking for. The guy says, �Mel�isssssss�.aaaa�.Lonnnn�.�

The manager shakes his head. �No, that is her NAME.�

�Ohhh,� the clerk says.

So, he finds it on the computer and turns to me to ask, �You are looking for Stupid White Men?�

At this exact time, a black guy walks up and hears this. The guy looks at me and says, �Stupid, white men?� He looks at the white manager. You can see he is holding back from exploding from laughter.

I nod with my face bright red.

The black guy looks at me again. He is really holding back as a smile bursts across his face and he says again, �Stupid, white men.�

The manger says, �I am not insulted, Michael Moore is a cool guy.�

I shrug.

(this is the third entry today, just in case you care to click back to read them)

top


add a comment(1)
Cementgarden - 2002-11-24 00:20:08
*smiles* You're story seems almost fictional. Ironic that someone might overhear it!! Very enlightening....