back��� next��� old���� profile���� notes���� design��� �image���� host

2002-06-14|9:40 a.m.

Before I set up the drawers this morning, the new janitor guys asked if they could buy a couple sodas before they left home. The senior department manager told them they'd have to wait until I set one of the tills up. Then one guy assured that he didn't need change, if that were the case. To which Joanne said, "Ok, as long as you don't have any large bills that need change."

And one replied, "I am a janitor. I don't have large bills." I giggled.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

On my nose to cover my nose ring, I have to wear a small, round adhesive bandage (I'm trying not to have to use the name brand. Down with Band-Aid! Do-oh, there I go.) I don't think they know yet. I am hoping, strangely enough, that they think it is a wart or something so that they are too grossed out to ask to see it.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

MM is going to get me a GOLD MEMEBERSHIP! I am so excited.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

You know what seems like a weird alliance to me? How supportive the Christian groups are of the Israelis. They keep making comments about the Israelis being God's people. And I can understand that sentiment, I guess; but I wonder if that means that God's people are forgiven for that foible with the crucifixion of their Lord. Seems like a slight oversight to me. But, I point no fingers of blame for something that happened two thousands years ago. I just get uneasy when Christian conservative groups speak at all.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

I was reading about Orwell again, and I found out that he was really annoyed with hippie-types. Even though hippies weren't around just then, the type seems ever present. He especially targeted sandal wearing, vegetarian, yoga-in-the-park-type of people. He was a staunch leftist thinker though, so he had a lot of friends that were these people. Some of his attacks on them were just jokes. Some were true to heart. What annoyed him the most was that most of them lived with the idea that they were humanitarians without really understanding what people needed or wanted. It also bothered him that most of these people only wanted self-improvement. They were only serving themselves. I suppose that is pretty accurate of some of them (and myself). It is hard to say.

But, the whole criticism made me think about how a leftist lifestyle is pretty much a luxury. Taking yoga classes, eating organic foods, living outside the city in a rural area, buying non-corporate goods, dedicating time to grassroots organizations, or whatever it may be, these things are typically too hard for Jorge, the strawberry picker, to get involved with. So, if he isn't part of this, whom exactly are all these people representing? Are they simply fighting for causes they think Jorge wants? Did they sit down and meet Jorge? Jorge, and his other working class Hispanics, are slowly becoming conservative especially here in California. Maybe we haven't been listening.

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

Word of that Day: foible- the part of a sword or foil blade between the middle and point/ a minor flaw or shortcoming in character or behavior

top


add a comment(0)